Project Description

Fourth Edition Simulated Hearing of the CJEU – Minhota Section | June 3rd

On June 3, 2013, at 2:00 p.m., in Room 009 of EDUM, the 4th edition of the Simulated Hearing of the CJEU – Minhota Section took place. Five teams were composed of students from the 2nd year of the law degree (see below the composition of the teams), who had to defend arguments regarding a highly complex case, and were then questioned by the members of the jury. The case corresponded to a real factual situation and the questions were based on the last edition of the European Law Moot Court Competition, in which a CEDU team intervened. As in previous editions, the jury of the Simulated Hearing was presided over by the President of the Court of Appeal of Guimarães, Judge Des. António Ribeiro, and by the following members: Judge Des. António Sobrinho, Judge Des. José Vieira Cunha, Judge Des. Fernando Fernandes Freitas, Judge Des. Rosa Tching and Dr. João Resende Neiva, all students (or former students) of the Master in Law of the European Union. As in previous editions, the initiative was supported by ELSA-UMINHO and AEDUM. The winning student has the opportunity to accompany the group of CEDU (composed of masters in European Union law, magistrates and MP and lawyers) in the study visit to the CJEU scheduled for 16-20 June. Ana Isa Dias Meireles was the winner of the 2013 edition of the simulated audience, with Ana Teresa Teixeira in second place. The coordination of the activity was in charge of Dr. Sophie Perez Fernandes.

Team composition:

– Petra Peters, Ana Isa Dias Meireles

(Bábara da Silva Fernandes, Hélder Azevedo e Silva, José Pedro Jesus Costinha and Mário João Santos Rodrigues)

– the Kapitaal Government, Teresa Lamelas da Silva Teixeira

(Sara Margarida Veloso Alves Esteves, Joana Usabel Araújo Vinagre de Sousa and José Pedro Coutinho de Freitas)

– Massive Diversion, Diana Marisa Magalhães Lopes

(Bruna Filipa Alves Cunha, Bruno Daniel Vareiro André and Tiago Branco Costa)

– the European Commission, Eugénia Margarida Afonso Pereira

(Carla Luísa Monteiro Cardoso, Clara Alexandra Quintela Alves Rodrigues and Cláudia Cristina Ribeiro Fernandes)

– Conclusions tabled by Jeanette Sofia Planche Rodrigues

(Filipa Gonçalves Longras and Maria Margarida Silva do Vale Lima)

Check out the Programme.