Staff and Governance 2018-07-09T15:52:39+00:00

Staff and Governance

JusGov is composed of the Director, the Executive Board, the Coordinating Board of the Scientific Committee, the Scientific Committee, the External Advisory Board and the researchers.


Performed by Professor Patrícia Jerónimo.

The Director is elected by the Scientific Committee.

The Director shall:

  • Represent the Center;

  • Ensure the coordination of the different projects and activities;

  • Coordinate the activity of the Centre in accordance with the purposes defined in the

  • Manage the human and material resources made available to the Centre;

  • Approve the admission of members;

  • Managing the financial resources allocated to or obtained by the Centre, namely those attributed by the University, the Foundation for Science and Technology (FCT) and other financing entities;

  • Convene meetings of the Advisory Committee and the Scientific Council;

  • Convene and preside chair plenary meetings of researchers;

  • Ensure compliance with the deliberations of the Scientific Council and the Board of Directors.

Executive Board

The Executive Board consists of the Director and members nominated by the Director within the Doctorate Members.

The Executive Board coordinates the institutional collaboration among the UM and the participating institutions, liaises with the Law School’s Board for the organisation of training activities and human resources related matters, decides on the allocation of funds and supervises the day-to-day management of the Centre.

Coordinating Board of the Scientific Committee

The Coordinating Board of the Scientific Committee is composed of the principal investigators of the different research groups of Jusgov and the coordinating researcher.

The Coordinating Board of the Scientific Committee shall:

  • Coordinate research, post-graduate education and technology transfer activities;

  • Ensure that research groups are linked to the Executive Board;

  • Prepare a strategic plan according to the general guidelines defined by the Scientific Committee;

  • Give its opinion on the annual and multiannual plans of activities, the budget and the report.

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee shall be composed of all Doctorate Members of the Centre and chaired by the Director.

The Scientific Committee is responsible for defining the Centre’s research strategy and program and for supervising its implementation.

External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board is composed of individuals who do not belong to the Centre and have a recognized merit in the research areas of the Centre or in areas considered to be of strategic interest for their development.

The members of this Board shall be appointed by the Scientific Committee of the Centre upon the proposal from the Executive Board.

The members of the External Advisory Board are the following:

  • Carlos Gaspar – IPRI – Universidade Nova de Lisboa – Portugal
  • Flávia Piovesan – Pontifícia Universidade Católica de São Paulo – Brazil
  • Hans-Jörg Albrecht – Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law – Germany
  • Hildegard Schneider – Maastricht University – The Netherlands
  • Jorge Miranda – Faculdade de Direito – Universidade de Lisboa – Portugal
  • José Joaquim Gomes Canotilho – Faculdade de Direito – Universidade de Coimbra – Portugal
  • José Manuel Pureza – Faculdade de Economia – Universidade de Coimbra – Portugal
  • Milagros Otero Parga – University of Santiago de Compostela – Spain
  • Ruth Rubio Marín – University of Seville – Spain

Management Committee

To support the work of the Centre, JusGov has a small management committee comprised of an administrative expert, a financial expert, and an IT expert.

  • Administrative expert – Joana Mota Rego
  • Financial expert – Célia Rocha
  • IT expert – Pedro Rito